Pacific Conference on Conventional Weapons Treaties




Pacific countries met in Auckland on 12-14 February 2018 in order to take stock and advance implementation of three treaties dealing with conventional weapons: the Arms Trade Treaty (2013), the Convention on Cluster Munitions (2008) and the Convention on the prohibition of the use, stockpiling and transfer of antipersonnel mines (1997).

The meeting was sponsored by New Zealand and Australia and supported by the three Geneva-based Implementation Support Units (ATT, APMBC and CCM). The meeting was also attended by the International Committee of the Red Cross and civil society representatives.

14 Pacific States participated in the meeting: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Please click on the links below to access conference documents:

Auckland Declaration on Conventional Weapons Treaties
Conference programme