2016 UNGA Resolution on the Implementation of the Convention on Cluster Munitions

Resolution texts Text of draft resolution
Text of adopted resolution
Submission process The draft resolution was submitted by the Netherlands with the support of the other sponsors
Sponsors Sponsors: Angola, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czechia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Slovakia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Co-Sponsors: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Iraq, Monaco, San Marino, Slovenia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

First Committee vote Voting results:-

  • In favour: 134
  • Against: 2
  • Abstaining: 40
General Assembly vote Voting results:-

  • In favour: 141
  • Against: 2
  • Abstaining: 39
Explanation for vote First Committee report
Cuba, United States, Poland (also on behalf of Greece, Estonia, Finland, and Romania), Latvia, Republic of Korea, Cyprus, Brazil, Pakistan, and Singapore